Next NSW Race

Latest News

2020 Country And Provincial Championships Series

Racing NSW today announced the 2020 dates and venues for the $1.6 million Country Championships and $1.25 million Provincial Championships Series.

The 2020 Country Championships series will see three new venues host their regional Country Championships qualifier among the seven regional qualifying heats boasting prizemoney of $150,000.

The Country Championships series will again be run on six Sundays and two Saturdays before culminating in a $500,000 Final at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Saturday, 4 April 2020.

Racing action at Coffs Harbour - one of the new kids on the block for a $150K Country Championships Qualifier in 2020

Coffs Harbour, Nowra and Coonamble will each host their region's qualifier for the first time.

These venues replace Grafton, Goulburn and Dubbo, each of whom had staged the regional qualifier in their region since the inception of the Country Championships.

The Mid North Coast qualifier will also return to Taree in 2020.

The Country Championships commence with a double header on the weekend of 15 and 16 February 2020 with Coffs Harbour (Northern Rivers) and Nowra (South East).

The second week of the series will again be a double header at Albury (Southern Districts) and Taree (Mid North Coast) on 22 and 23 February 2020.

The Central Districts qualifier will be run at Mudgee on Sunday, 1 March 2020, the Hunter and North-West qualifier at Tamworth on Sunday, 8 March 2020 with the regional qualifiers rounded out with the Western qualifier at Coonamble on Sunday, 15 March 2020.

The Wild Card race meeting will again be run 13 days prior to the Final at Muswellbrook Racecourse on Sunday, 22 March 2020.

The full list of Country Championships qualifiers are:-

Date Day Venue Region
15 February 2020 Saturday Coffs Harbour Northern Rivers
16 February 2020 Sunday Nowra South East
22 February 2020 Saturday Albury Southern Districts
23 February 2020 Sunday Taree Mid North Coast
1 March 2020 Sunday Mudgee Central Districts
8 March 2020 Sunday Tamworth Hunter & North West
15 March 2020 Sunday Coonamble Western
22 March 2020 Sunday Muswellbrook Wild Card
4 April 2020 Saturday Royal Randwick Final

For the Provincial Championships in 2020, qualifying races at provincial racecourses will again be held on five consecutive Saturdays leading into The Championships, with the Final run for prizemoney of $500,000.

Date Day Venue
29 February 2020 Saturday Newcastle
7 March 2020 Saturday Hawkesbury
14 March 2020 Saturday Gosford
21 March 2020 Saturday Kembla Grange
28 March 2020 Saturday Wyong
11 April 2020 Saturday Royal Randwick (Final)


The Latest Racing News

"Punters Will Know As Soon As They Jump" (Hawkesbury, Tues)

By John Curtis Trainer Matt Vella says he will know his fate – along with those of punters – with ...
Read More

Stable Reports To Stewards - Confiscate (Canterbury, Weds)

Please note the following: CANTERBURY PARK (Wednesday 23rd June) Race 2, No.2 - CONFISCATE: The Hawkes Racing stable advised the ...
Read More

Jockeys Overweight - Tuesday (22nd June) To Wednesday (23rd June)

Please note the following: HAWKESBURY (Tuesday 22nd June) Race 6, No.8 - PAULDRON: Koby Jennings has permission to ride +0.5kg ...
Read More

Reilly Puts Corners On Trial For Grafton Carnival (Lismore, Tuesday)

If you were any trainer in the shoes of Jason Reilly you would love to have a horse in your ...
Read More

Midway Races A "Shot In The Arm" For Smaller Stables

By Ray Hickson From July 3, Racing NSW introduces the $100,000 Midway race to the Saturday metropolitan meeting and as ...
Read More
Racing NSW Apps
Mobile Version
Industry Links