Next NSW Race
Rising Star Series

Racing NSW Rising Star Apprentice Series


NO OVERALL WINNER has been declared due to COVID-19 restrictions limiting apprentices' ability to contest all heats.

Latest 2019/20 Rising Star Point Score

Rising Star Series: Honour Roll


• Lucky 13 For Elissa Meredith In Tamworth Rising Star (20 May 20)

• Yvette Lewis Moves Up The Rising Star Series Ladder (20 April 20)

• Heni's Rails-Hugging Ride Claims Rising Star Heat At Wagga (31 March 20)

• Olivia Pickering Claims Her First Rising Star Series Win (6 March 20)

• Apprentice Brock Ryan Lands First Rising Star Series Win (27 Feb 20)

• Sweet And Sour Rising Star Series Win By Budler At Albury (4 Feb 20)

• Tom Sherry Claims His First Rising Star Series Win (31 Jan 20)

• Qin Yong Continues To Set Pace In Rising Star Series (31 Dec 19)

• Qin Yong Now Leads Apprentice Series (10 Dec 19)

• Clenton's Rising Star Win Continues Her Sizzling Form (28 Nov 19)

• Billy Owen Off To A Great Start In Rising Star Series (9 Oct 19)

• Jenny Duggan Takes Out Rising Star Series (10 June 19)

Jenny Duggan is the 2018/19 NSW Rising Star winner. Image by Bradley Photographers

The 2019/20 Racing NSW Rising Star Apprentice Series kicked off on Tuesday, 8 October 2019, with the final heat to be staged at Hawkesbury on Thursday, 30 July 2020. The series is to promote Vocational Education and Training in NSW.

Rising Star Series Conditions

The Series is open to NSW and ACT indentured apprentice riders who are enrolled at Racing NSW Apprentice Schools.

  • Preference will be given to apprentice riders who, in order:

(i) fulfil the requirements of the NSW Apprentice and Traineeship Act of 2001. (ii) are on loan from another state (for longer than two months) and who have been placed with the trainer of a horse nominated in a heat. (iii) are visiting from another county and do not fit the requirements of Part (i).

Unless riders fulfil the requirements from category (i) they will be unable to ride in the Final. Riders from Category (ii) and (iii) may ride in a heat, but may not attain points, or ride in the Final. Individual awards for heats shall be made to the highest placed rider from Category (i). In the event that there are insufficient qualified apprentice riders available on the day of a series race, after confirmation from the Racing NSW Training Dept, Stewards may permit an Interstate Apprentice Jockey who does not qualify under Category (ii) to ride. These riders may not attain points or ride in the final.

  • The Rising Star Racing Colours will be carried by the apprentice leading the series at the time the heat is run, or if the leading rider is not competing, the topweight will carry the colours.
  • Points will be awarded for each race on the following basis:

(i) First Place - 7 points; Second Place - 5 points; Third Place - 3 points; Fourth Place – 2 points; All other placings - 1 point (ii) In the case of a dead heat, the effected placing's points shall be added together then divided by the number of dead heaters. (iii) If an apprentice is declared for a ride and the horse is subsequently scratched, the apprentice will gain one point.

  • Apprentices who are due to come out of their time during the period of the Rising Star series will be eligible to compete until such time as their apprenticeship finishes. These apprentices will also be eligible to become the overall Rising Star Series winner, with points earned in the races in which they are eligible to ride to be considered in the final tally.
  • All heats and the Final will be restricted to 12 riders.
  • Racing NSW can amend the Rising Star Series Conditions at any time, to ensure equal opportunity for all participants.
Racing NSW Apps
Mobile Version
Industry Links