Next NSW Race
Board Members

The Racing NSW Board consists of the following members:-

Dr S Cooke (Saranne)

CHAIRMAN - 4 year term (re-appointed for a four year term ending 18 December 2027)

• Chair, Australasian College of Sports and Exercise Physicians
• Chair, Royal Flying Doctor Service (South Eastern)
• Director, Australian Meat Processor Corporation
• Deputy Chancellor, Charles Sturt University
• Director, Fisheries Research and Development Corporation
• Director, Aged and Community Care Providers Association
• Chair, Catholic Diocese of Bathurst Finance Council
• Extensive experience in finance, marketing, strategy and technology across the energy, health, banking and manufacturing sectors
• PhD (ASX200 Board Governance)

Hon G Souris AM (George)

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN - 4 year term (re-appointed for a four year term ending 28 April 2028)

• President, State Library of NSW
• Director, Australian Film Institute | Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts and member of the AACTA International Chapter
• Director, Australian Rugby Foundation of Rugby Australia
• Trustee Sir Earle Page Trust
• Committee, NSW Government Wine Industry Roundtable
• NSW Arts & Culture Advisory Committee
• Committee for a Cultural Heart for Sydney
• MP of the NSW Parliament 27 years 1988 - 2015
• Minister for Racing in the Greiner, Fahey and O'Farrell Governments and Shadow minister for Racing during the Carr Government
• Minister for Tourism and Major Events, Minister for Liquor & Gaming, Minister for the Arts 2011 - 2014
• Minister for Finance, Sport, Land & Water Conservation during the Greiner & Fahey Governments
• Trustee and Chairman NSW Parliamentary Superannuation Fund over a seven year period
• Former Deputy Leader and Leader of the National Party
• Formerly Accountant in public practice
• President Hunter Valley Wine & Tourism Alliance 2015 -2017
• Awarded a Member in the Order of Australia Queen's Honours List 2016
• Formerly member and Treasurer of the World Hellenic Inter-parliamentary Union
• Formerly member of Council of the University of Newcastle
• Formerly Vice-president NSW Public Accounts Committee
• Formerly Councillor and Dep President Singleton Council over seven years
• Representative Rugby career included NSW Country, Combined Australian Universities and the Australian U23 teams
• Chair, Board of Etymon P/Ltd (subsidiary of Aqualand Australia Ltd).

S Tuxen (Simon)

BOARD MEMBER - 4 year term (re-appointed as Member for four year term ending 19 December 2026)

• General Counsel and Company Secretary with Westfield Corporation Limited
• Previously Group General Counsel and Company Secretary of Westfield Group
• Before joining Westfield in 2002,  was General Counsel of BIL International Limited in Singapore, Group Legal Manager of the Jardine Matheson
Group in Hong Kong and a partner with Mallesons Stephen Jaques (now King & Wood Mallesons) from 1987 to 1996
• Has had a longstanding interest in the Thoroughbred Racing Industry

A Shepherd AO (Anthony)

BOARD MEMBER - 3 year term (re-appointed as Member for three year term ending 19 December 2025)

• President of Business Council of Australia, Nov 2011 - March 2014
• Chairman of National Commission of Audit, Oct 2013 - May 2014
• Appointed Chairman of WestConnex Delivery Authority in NSW, Oct 2013
• Chairman of listed company Transfield Services, 2005 – 2013
• Previous Chairman of ConnectEast
• Director of Virgin Australia International Holdings Pty Ltd
• Chairman of Sydney Cricket Ground Trust
• Chairman of AFL GWS Giants
• Chairman of ASTRA
• Adviser to Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ
• Named an Officer of the Order of Australia (2012)

M Crismale (Michael) CA, FAICD

BOARD MEMBER - 3 year term (commencing 20 December 2021 and expiring 19 December 2024)

  • Director of Matrium Technologies, Matrix Bloodstock, Emjay Insurance Brokers, JSA Financial Services and Sydney Football Club
• Former Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Director of Australian Turf Club
• Trustee at Sydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust
• Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants
• Member of the Institute of Company Directors

G S Charny (Garry)

BOARD MEMBER - 2 year term (appointed as Member for two year term ending 19 December 2024)

• Chairman Centuria Capital Group (ASX:CNI)
• Founder and Managing Director Wolseley Corporate
• Chairman Over Fifty Guardian Friendly Society
• Chairman Centuria Healthcare
• Chairman Centuria Life
• Chairman High End
• Principal Belannah Stud
• Member NSW Thoroughbred Breeders & Australian Turf Club

K P Greene (Kevin)

BOARD MEMBER - 4 year term (appointed as Member for four year term ending 25 February 2028)

• Director Cricket NSW
• President St George District Cricket Club
• Chair NSW Rugby League Referees Association
• Director ICC Ltd (trading as Club Central)
• Director NSW Rugby League
• Advisory Board Greenworx Pty Ltd

P N V'landys AM (Peter)


• Chairman, Australian Rugby League Commission
• NSW Arts & Culture Advisory Committee
• Chairman of Finance, Governance and Remuneration Committee, Racing Australia
• Secretary, Racing Appeals Tribunal, since 2004
• Secretary, Racing NSW Appeal Panel, since 2004
• Chairman, Racing Product Committee, since 2004
• Chairman, Racing NSW Animal Care and Ethics Committee, since 2004
• Member, Product Supply Advisory Group, since 2005
• Chairman, National Jockeys Safety Committee, since 2006
• Director, RacingCorp Pty Ltd, since 2005
• Chairman, Australian Racing and Equine Academy, since 2010
• Awarded Member of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day honours for services to the Racing Industry in 2014
Racing NSW Apps
Mobile Version
Industry Links