Next NSW Race
Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2000m Group 1

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes has developed into one of Australia’s best weight for age races. The race dates back to 1851 when it was called the Queen’s Plate. It was renamed in 1954 in honour of Queen Elizabeth II during her visit to Australia. This race has been won by Australia’s most illustrious gallopers including Tulloch (1958, 1960 & 1961), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003) and Grand Armee (2004-2005).

Race Record: 2-01.22 INTERGAZE 1997

The Winners since the beginning of The Championships

2017WinxH. Bowman57Hartnell (GB)Sense Of OccasionView Replay2:07.2
2016Lucia Valentina (NZ)D. Oliver57The United States (IRE)Happy Clapper2:04.8
2015Criterion (NZ)C. Williams59Red Cadeaux (GB)Royal Descent2:05.3
2014It's A Dundeel (NZ)J. B McDonald59Sacred Falls (NZ)Carlton House (USA)2:03.7


Racing NSW Apps
Mobile Version
Industry Links