## **FORMER JOCKEYS** *hit the track' again*

## A LONG LIST OF FORMER JOCKEYS OF THE AUSTRALIAN TURF DESCENDED ON ROYAL RANDWICK LAST MONTH FOR AN ENJOYABLE REUNION WORDS: MARK BRASSEL PICTURES: RACHAEL HART



The large group of former jockeys & current jockeys in Royal Randwick's Theatre of the Horse



Kevin Langby gives the thumbs up flanked by Ray Markey (left) & Peter Miers



The always vibrant Neil Paine greets current jockeys in the Guard of Honour

11

SW Jockeys Association organised a second instalment of 'Jockeys Reunion Day' on Saturday 6 August with the group meeting at the Owners Pavilion overlooking the Theatre of the Horse for an afternoon of catching up and reminiscing.

"This was our second reunion, the previous being in 2019," said Tony Crisafi, Chief Executive Officer of NSW Jockeys Association.

"The venue was perfect and made a huge difference. Many continue to work in the industry they love and were over the moon to meet up once again.

"We had a blessing and a minute's silence before the former jockeys mingled with current jockeys and performed a Guard of Honour.

"It was a fabulous day and thanks to the many attendees that came from long distances to attend. We will more than likely have the next reunion in 2024."

Following is the remarkable line-up of 75 former jockeys or representatives that headed out to headquarters on a perfect winter's afternoon: -

Bill Aspros	David Hannon	Ken O'Brien
Tracey Bartley	Wayne Harris	Bob Pearse
Ricky Bligh	John Higgins	Neil Paine
Darren Beadman	Ben Hill	Stuart Plain
Craig Bornstein	Johnny Hudson	Troy Phillips
Gary Buchanan	Dale Jeffries	Graeme Power
Rito Caldalbert	Bruce Johnson	Rodney Quinn
Neil Campton	Mick Johnson	Kyle Rayney
Brian Carter	Kevin Langby	Greg Ryan
Cliff Clare	Clark Little	Dwayne Schmidt
Bill Cosgrove	Maurice Logue	John Scorse
Chris Cosgrove	Nelson Logue	Matthew Scorse
Terry Cosgrove	Peter Losh	Ron Sheargold
Jamie De Belin	Clint Lundholm	Hari Singh
Stephen De Gruchy	Ray Marney	Michael Squires
Sandra Denn	Michael Marks	Robert Thompson
Hussey Dertli	Tony Marney	Tim Thornhill
Pat Ferris	Steve McCarroll	Neville Voigt
Mal Fitzgerald	Peter Miers	John Wade
Lachlan Fyfe	Noel Miller	Donna Waterhouse
Mark Galea	Anne Munsie (for Norm)	Wayne Weate
Alan Gollogly	Kate Nipperess	Terry Wicks
Norm Gooden	John Nisbet	Peter Wiggins
Samantha Gordon	Greg Nock	Stuart Wiggins
Michael Hackett	Scott Norris	Danny Williams



Current riders pass through the Guard of Honour



Cliff Clare (left) & John Tapp OAM



Anne Munsie, Tony Marney, Neville Voigt & Greg Nock