Next NSW Race

Latest News

Ready To Jump In 2017 Champion Tipster Title

A capacity field of 27 will do battle on Day 1 of The Championships this Saturday to determine the winner of the prestigious 2017 TAB Champion Tipster and in the process raise money for charity.

Tipsters will select a horse in each of the dozen The Championships races over the next two Saturdays at Royal Randwick. A hypothetical $10 each-way bet will go on each of the 27 selections of the tipsters.

The tipster with the largest balance at the completion of The Championships on Saturday 8 April will be crowned this year’s TAB Champion Tipster, with TAB kindly donating $5000 to the winner’s charity of choice.

Below: TAB's Shaun Anderson (L) presents the winning cheque to the 2015 top tipster, Adam Pengilly.

“This tipping competition generates plenty of interest during the two days of The Championships but importantly, a sizeable cheque will be going to a worthy charity,” said Racing NSW Chief Executive, Peter V’landys AM.

TAB’s Glenn Munsie said: “The TAB Champion Tipster provides the opportunity for the boys and girls to claim bragging rights. It is a great initiative by Racing NSW and carries plenty of prestige – all in the name of charity.”

Fairfax’s Adam Pengilly will be out to retain the title he won last year after returning $656; his figure being boosted extensively by the win of Tavago in the BMW Australian Derby paying $47 on NSW TAB. The tipsters and their charities are:

1. Russell Barwick (Fox Sports), charity – Youngcare 2. Andrew Bensley (Sky Sports Radio), Men’s Prostate Cancer 3. Tony Brassel (Sky Thoroughbred Central), Australian Kidney Foundation 4. Rob Burnet (Thoroughbred, National Jockeys Trust 5. Jason Clout (Australian Financial Review), OzHarvest 6. Gary Crispe (Racing &, Cancer Council 7. Nick Davis (Sydney Swans), YNOT Help Foundation 8. Ron Dufficy (Sky Sports Radio), Motor Neurone Disease of NSW 9. Candice Hare (TVG Analyst), BeyondBlue 10. Ray Hickson (The Sportsman), Crohn’s and Colitis Australia 11. Erin Holland (ATC Ambassador), BeyondBlue 12. Paul Joice (Racenet), Red Cross 13. Glenn Munsie (TAB), National Jockeys Trust 14. Clinton Payne (Racenet), Starlight Foundation 15. Adam Pengilly (The Sydney Morning Herald), Support Joey 16. Ryan Phelan (Channel 7), Cansurvive Research Association 17. Max Presnell (Fairfax Media), Arrow Foundation 18. Greg Radley (Sky Thoroughbred Central), Meningococcal Australia 19. Jaimee Rogers (TAB), Leukaemia Foundation 20. Chris Roots (The Sydney Morning Herald), Leukaemia Foundation 21. Daniel Sankey (The Australian), Redkite 22. Caroline Searcy (Sky Thoroughbred Central), NSW Thoroughbred Rehabilitation Trust 23. Chris Scholtz (Racing &, Chris O’Brien Lifehouse (Cancer Research) 24. Ray Thomas (The Daily Telegraph), Prince of Wales Children’s Hospital 25. Ben Walker (Dubbo Liberal), Beyondblue 26. Cameron Williams (Channel 9), Alzheimer's Australia Dementia Research Foundation 27. Caryl Williamson (Turf Editor, AAP), BeyondBlue

The first five races of the 2017 The Championships are:-

• $3 million Group 1 The Star Doncaster Mile • $2.5 million Group 1 Darley TJ Smith Stakes • $2 million Group 1 BMW Australian Derby • $1 million Group 1 Inglis Sires’ • $400,000 Newhaven Park Country Championships Series Final

You can keep track of the tipsters and their selections/balances across the two The Championships racedays at – 2017 TAB Champion Tipster Challenge

The Latest Racing News

Brenton Avdulla Replacements - Not Riding At Kensington Track (Weds)

Please note the following rider replacements for Brenton Avdulla who is not riding at the Kensington Track on Wednesday (17th ...
Read More

Randwick Trials (Friday 7th Dec) - Transferred To Hawkesbury

Please be advised that the barrier trials scheduled for Randwick on Friday 7th December have been transferred to Hawkesbury. This ...
Read More

Lismore Races (Monday 22nd October) - Transferred To Coffs Harbour

Please be advised that following a track inspection by Racing NSW Stewards, Lismore Racetrack has been deemed unsuitable to proceed ...
Read More

Brenton Avdulla Not Riding At Kensington Track (Wednesday)

After sustaining a knee injury in a trackwork incident this morning (Tuesday), jockey Brenton Avdulla has advised he is unable ...
Read More

Randwick (Kensington) Winners - Tips For Wednesday 17th October

By Ray Hickson Tips and race by race preview by Ray Hickson for Wednesday’s Kensington track meeting at Randwick. Selections ...
Read More
Racing NSW Apps
Mobile Version
Industry Links